Today, many young people spend too much of their free time at shopping malls. This can be considered negative for young people and society generally. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In our society today, most youths spend their leisure time at shopping malls, which is often considered bad for them and society in general. I totally agree with this statement, as there are many negative outcomes as a result of this. Which includes; a decrease in productivity and promotion of laziness amongst the youths. Firstly, a general decrease in productivity would be expected from most young people who prefer to spend their leisure time in shopping malls. For example, recent studies have shown a decline in the academic performance of those who spent more time at malls as compared to students who spent most of their free time studying in the library. It is safe today that using one's leisure time effectively, will have better outcomes than being idle at a mall. Secondly, this promotes laziness and also reduces creativity. For instance, teenagers are supposed to help with chores at home and assist their parents with certain duties, however most prefer to avoid these chores by going out. This could hinder their proper upbringing and also reduce moral values. In summary, I strongly agree that, there are repercussions to wasting one's free time at shopping malls, as this could reduce overall productivity, and creativity, decrease moral values, promote laziness and also encourage bad habits.