Today, TV channels broadcast men’s sports shows more than women’s sports shows. Why is this the case? Should TV channels give equal showtime for each?

For decades, television programs have shown undeniable favouritism for men's athletics over women's. From my perspective, this stems from the history of sports and the natural differences between the two sexes. The situation could be minimized by giving both genders the same opportunities to grow, but that does not necessarily equate to giving them equal airtime. The extensive televised coverage of male sports can be explained as a byproduct of sports history. When sports were first introduced, they were aimed at male viewers, as traditionally, athletics was regarded as a domain of men. By contrast, women were expected to play a more domestic role, to be involved in nurturing and developing social relationships. Another reason could be the physical and mental differences between the two demographics. It is scientifically proven that men are born with a higher fitness ability. They are also more oriented towards mortal combats, which is an indicator of masculinity and their protective nature. Hence, it is logical for the sporting industry to assume and progress this approach to attain better viewership, leading to greater exposure to male athletics on television. However, as the gender divide blurs and women are encouraged to make freer choices in their careers, this dominance of men's sports may work against them. In some sports, women athletes should be entitled to more broadcast time, because they can draw crowds and a new group of sports fanatics. Take an example of female football tournaments, where the women's team consistently progresses far beyond their male counterparts. It is suggested that sports federations and TV companies insinuate changes into sporting regulations, to bring justice to female athletics and support sportswomen. They should be able to make money from their sporting prowess if the audience exists. This is only fair to all, in the sense that it is not mandatory to apply this policy to all sports, but to those whose audience is justified. To conclude, there are two main reasons for the disparity in dedicated time on TV for male and female sports, namely its historical background and the gender gap. However, this can be remedied on a case-by-case basis by increasing the amount of programming time devoted to female athletes, provided that the ratings are reasonable. It should be up to the audience itself to choose which game is worth watching, regardless of gender.