The increase in the production of consumer goods (food, clothing) results in damage to the natural environment. What is the cause of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

Nowadays, the production number of customer goods has exceeded the total amount of permittable goods distributed throughout the demographics of society which might instigate detrimental side effects on the environment. The plausible causes of this phenomenon are nature exploitation and unfiltered toxic waste disposal as a result of the large production of manufactured goods and the cultivating solutions would be to conduct environmental restoration, minimize the use of goods, and execute toxic waste detoxification. In the following decades, as the need for goods has been increasing and expanding, more and more natural resources are being exploited. For instance, the massive use of palm oil, the raw material to produce chocolate and the main ingredient for frying which originated mainly in developing countries such as Indonesia, Malaysia, and Thailand often took over a large number of palm tree forests in these regions. This, if not being controlled in a sufficient way, would result in deforestation, a purposeful act to clear out large areas of forest lands. Deforestation in many ways threatens the livelihood of wild animals and disrupts the animal ecosystem. As the ecosystem dies, the animals that live in the ecosystem would eventually be eradicated and thus, diminishing biodiversity. In addition, hazardous waste attained from the post-manufacture of household commodities such as spa bath, detergent, and soap that is thrown in the ocean would defile the water and as a result, fish dies, and oceans are polluted. For that reason, the natural environment is damaged. The cogent solutions to these problems are to reinstate the environment through reforestation. For every ten palm trees being taken for producing cooking oil, ten more trees could be replanted. Furthermore, eliminating its use whilst implementing a green lifestyle and utilizing eco-friendly goods would prevent massive exploitation. For instance, replacing palm oil with fish oil would lessen the number of palm trees being cut. Last but not least, detoxification is one way to purify the waste that is produced from manufactured goods. A range of equipment and machines with advanced technology that could filtrate dangerous substances in water waste would eliminate the number of oceans being contaminated. In conclusion, the high number of consumer goods production might lead to several environmental destructions including deforestation and water pollution and the sufficient solutions to these issues are reforestation, eco-friendly product consumption, and waste purification through technology.