It is commonly believed that nowadays main factors that affect a child's development are media, pop culture and friends. A different point of view is that family plays the most significant role. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Childhood age is a very critical stage of one's life as it shapes the personality and develops the character for the rest of the years. Some people believe that family plays a crucial role in shaping children's personality while others opine that it is the media and friends who influence shaping their future. In my opinion, it is the combination of all these factors that affect the children's development and the proportions of these are determined based on the amount of time they spend. First and foremost, family plays a vital role while they grow in their first five years under the supervision of parents and grandparents. For instance, adults at home can teach them bedtime stories and inculcate the native culture and traditions. Moreover, the environment in which they grow up can extremely influence their behaviour and manners. For example, if the parents are very loving and caring without any arguments between them, the affectionate atmosphere can help their younger ones grow psychologically strong. As children start to grow and enter schools, they get exposed to different media like the Internet, television and friends that can impact their attitudes and culture significantly. For instance, the companionship of well-mannered boys or girls can nurture them into responsible adults later whereas the company of friends with bad habits can spoil them completely. Furthermore, the generation of this internet era is influenced by a wide variety of content that could leave either a positive or negative impact on them. In conclusion, I believe that the family environment and the parents' time for children can mould their basic character while the media and friends can mainly influence their tastes, ambitions and attitudes. Having said that, whether it is friends or family, it is finally the amount of time that qualifies the impact on their development.