The education of young people is highly prioritized in many countries. However, educating adults who cannot write or read is even more important, and governments should spend more money on this. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The provision of funding and building structures to promote adult education should take utmost priority as against the education of younger generation by any Government. This essay tends to discuss the merits and demerits of the government focusing and developing adult education as against the younger generation. Education is for all ages and should not be limited to the younger generation. One of the key merits of adult education is that it gives the older generation a sense of belonging in the society. As we are all aware, the society is evolving with advanced technology daily and the only way to keep pace with what is happening in the world today is constant learning. Therefore, a society with more uneducated adults will give room for bad governance, decline growth rate and mismanagement of resources. In addition, it is important for the government to provide adequate structures and funding to promote adult education reason being leaders who can neither read nor write but occupy leadership positions, will hinder the economy growth of any country. As a result, adults should be encouraged to keep learning at all cost as it promotes creative thinking and active mind. No country would experience any progressive economy growth if the policy makers, regulators or industry players are not able to make or take decisive actions. While educating the younger generation should not be neglected as the saying goes “they are the leaders of tomorrow” however, their tomorrow can only be guaranteed where the leaders steering the wheels are constantly learning to be able to preserve the resources of the country for the younger generation. In conclusion, it is important that any government who understands that educating adults is key to growth, would provide adequate funding in setting up structures that would supports adult education.