Social Media has made it easy to be in touch with your friends and family. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

Social networking has become part of our daily lives in recent years. Everyone is hooked on various applications and websites for personal use. This has enabled people to stay connected with kins and classmates even from different countries or continents. On the flip side, this has created another concern that our private details might get into someone else's hands which is a big financial and personal risk. Hence, in my,opinion I strongly agree that social media is more detrimental than beneficial. The use of applications like Facebook and Instagram has an inherent risk of our accounts getting hacked. Many people keep their sensitive data on a cloud drive and therefore, if their account is broken into, all the embarrassing information can be leaked to the public. For example, recently a Hollywood actress faced embarrassment when her social media account was decoded, and all her sensitive photos and videos were made public which destroyed her life. Furthermore, it is very alarming since many people keep their banking passwords based on their personal information which can lead to theft of money. Even though above I have highlighted the negative aspects, I do not undermine the effective usage of Gmail and WhatsApp. With the help of high-speed,internet both can be used for calling and messaging friends and family. In my personal experience, my sister could watch my wedding from the US over video call because she could not come to India due to COVID restrictions. To sum it up, there are some advantages of online media and globally people are too dependent on them nowadays. But the potential harmful effects to our privacy that it may cause outweigh far more than its benefits. Therefore, I strongly agree that being vigilant about the risk of social media is an urgent need of the hour.