Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s world, using social media has become inescapable and sure its different platforms such as Facebook and Instagram have a lot of benefits and drawbacks. Consequently, there are various viewpoints about the impacts they have on our lives. However, I believe social media is very useful and their positive side takes over the negative. To begin with, there are several pros of social media which are indicated. First and foremost, it aids to save time. When people need various information about an issue, they can use these platforms. In other words, social media has prepared easy access to get lots of data. For example, through Youtube, an individual can collect numerous valuable information about a specific topic in less than one hour. Secondly, social media helps people to keep in touch together. For instance, at the beginning of the Covid-19 pandemic, these tools played an indispensable role in the world connecting with families and friends. Also, they decreased problems related to long distances. Nonetheless, social media can have cons. Sharing personal information is one drawback of it. You have to register your personal data like phone number, email address, nationality and etc. for creating an account. Consequently, many of the users can become victims of cybercrimes such as online fraud. Another negative side is the danger of falling prey to scammers which are full of risks for individuals, especially children. For example, they might lose a huge amount of money as a result of participation in fake bets. To conclude, social media has pros and cons. In spite of its drastic effects which are limited. in my opinion, these platforms have profound impacts on our lives.