What invention in the last 30 years has made the most difference in the lives of people? Explain why it has had such a noteworthy effect. Use specific reasons and examples to support your choice.

It's indubitable that technology is changing so fast that we couldn't ignore its existence. Although it brings convenience for people to do everything, it has an adverse effect on human beings. Take smartphones for example. It has altered our lifestyles indirectly and made profound differences in the last thirty years. With the invention of mobile phones, sending messages and having communication became more flexible and accessible, which suggests that we are not limited to whether we are in the same place or not. Apart from that, searching for information is another advantage of smartphones. Not only could we gain knowledge to enrich ourselves, but also broaden our horizons by focusing on current events. Nowadays, the enforcement administrations legally monitor people who breach epidemic prevention regulations by tracking them on their smartphones. Therefore, mobile phones play a major role in our lives. As the proverb goes, "There are two sides to every corner. '' In other words, smartphones have gradually become an indispensable medium for people to chat and deal with tasks daily; nevertheless, they probably provide criminals with opportunities to commit crimes of internet fraud and sexual misconduct. In addition, our personal information and photos on smartphones could be revealed by the invasion of hackers, which potentially give rise to national security crises. In the light of the multifunctional and fashionable exterior appearance of smartphones, human beings would purchase them one after another without considering whether they can afford them or not. Eventually, we fall into a vicious circle. In conclusion, there are pros and cons to mobile phones. On one hand, it’s accessible to manage our missions, interact with each other, and implement regulations during a pandemic; on the other hand, it has infringement of human rights, disruption of social orders and risks national security. In summary, we, as the inventor of smartphones, should make the best use of them, not be controlled by them.