The threat of nuclear weapon maintains world peace. Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy. The benefits of nuclear technology far outweigh the disadvantages. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a common belief that nuclear technology exerts a wide range of far-reaching advantages brought by nuclear weapons which contribute to a peaceful world and affordable as well as clean nuclear energy. In my opinion, I would believe that such form of technology would result in the detrimental drawbacks which are weigher than its advantages. On the one hand, I have to concede that nuclear technology is beneficial to some extent. To begin with, nuclear weapons can hamper war waging attempts. In other words, the ownership of nuclear weapons can scare other countries which are in the fear of destabilizing effects on the global socio-economy, thus engendering a harmonious relationship in foreign diplomacy. Furthermore, nuclear power is likely to be not only inexpensive energy but also a green renewable source, thus the developed countries harness unlimited power with the purpose of catering for all industries, such as manufacturing and goods transportation. Taking the USA as an example, this country is the biggest consumer of nuclear energy, using it to produce electricity to serve all national industries. This paves the way for not only reducing expenditure on commodities for residents but also contributing to sustainable economic growth. On the other hand, I would argue that the severity of nuclear technology is inevitably taken into consideration because of some reasons. One of the major rationales is that the installation of nuclear plants requires immensely financial investment and a superb workforce. The government budget may, therefore, be undermined, not being affordable for other pressing matters like education, healthcare systems… Moreover, the mushrooming of nuclear plants may be at the expense of catastrophic ramifications. To be specific, poor management and inadequate maintenance might lead to a higher chance of energy leak, thus radioactivity will be released to deteriorate the environment. Another contributing factor is that if nuclear weapons were unintentionally owned by terrorist groups as well as unscrupulous nations, the future scenarios would become darker when they can trigger attacks by deploying fission missiles to the detriment of humankind to achieve their purposes, disrupting the world peace. Regarding such dangerous reverberations, it is completely incontrovertible to believe that the drawbacks of nuclear technology vastly eclipse its benefits. In conclusion, this view that the advantages of nuclear powder weigh its disadvantages holds untrue for me given that predominantly perilous drawbacks stem from the high cost of nuclear plants, the energy leak, together with terrorist groups or scrupulous nations.