A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not well-managed. What are the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world? Do you think that the benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks?

Although holidaymakers contribute hugely to the economy of popular destinations, the influx of tourists can cause serious issues. This essay will demonstrate how tourism transforms the economy of poor areas but will also show that this can lead to problems such as the displacement of local people. Whilst acknowledging that there are drawbacks, I will argue that the benefits of the tourism industry outweigh its drawbacks. One country that has experienced a significant economic boost from the tourism industry is Thailand. Over the past few decades, many small fishing villages, where people often struggled to make a living, have been developed into thriving holiday destinations. Many local people have spotted new business opportunities and become entrepreneurs, which has further diversified the economy. With all the hotels, motels, restaurants, shops and other tourist facilities that have been developed, there are now enough jobs for everyone and the general standard of living has greatly increased. On the other. hand, in Venice, the huge popularity of the canals and stunning architecture with visitors from all around the world has had a negative impact on local residents. The growing need for tourism accommodation, places to eat and shops has forced too many people to move from their homes to make room for these new developments. But also the situation has resulted in a lot of sense of community in the worst affected areas. In conclusion, although mass tourism can sometimes result in local residents being relocated, it greatly improves the lives of most people as well as contributes significantly to the nation's economy. Hence, the positive effects of developing the tourist industry definitely outweigh the negatives.