Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, there is a controversy surrounding the issue of giving homework to school children. While some people consider that young people should not be burdened by extra workload, many teachers argue that this method is indispensable for students' education. In my opinion, there are always two sides of a coin that should be carefully considered. On the one hand, it is an undeniable fact that having homework has certain advantages. First of all, students have the opportunity to practise as well as assimilate more of the knowledge gained from school. In addition, the extra workload at home is considered to be a chance for the revision of significant parts of tuition. Last but not least, exposing children to this method of education early on increases their cognitive ability and critical thinking, as well as their creativity. For instance, many reports have shown that homework enhances children's maturity and independence. On the other hand, there are considerable disadvantages to young children being pushed into having homework. Firstly, the time and effort put into doing their assignments may deprive children of precious leisure time and burden them with additional homework from too early an age. For example, during this period of time, young people want to relax in their homes,play with their peers or do an extracurricular activity. Finally, the majority of children react negatively to these extra school exercises and they rebel against making any effort to do them. As a result, this method of education can be unproductive for certain students. Taking everything into consideration, it is clear that giving homework to school children from an early age has both benefits and drawbacks. However,I believe that if the child is willing to undertake this extra workload, it can make a significant contribution to their overall education and mental development.