It is commonly believed that nowadays main factors that affect a child's development are media, pop culture and friends. A different point of view is that family plays the most significant role.

It is generally argued, by some, that different types of social media and friend groups affect the children’s upbringing. While others believe that parents’ role profoundly influences offspring's personality. This essay will discuss both points of view but, in my opinion, the latter has a more dramatic impact. On the one hand, children’s mental and physical development is mainly affected by their surroundings. Many believe social media and peer groups can shape the personality of kids. In other words, media platforms like television and pop affect them. When they start watching it, not only see the fashion trend but also adopt the same in their lives. Moreover, when little ones go out of their houses, they meet different people with various cultures and behaviours. So, their personality will be impressed. For instance, my niece desires to have clothes the same as princesses in animations. On the other hand, parents have a significant role in the growth of children’s personalities. In other words, when kids are born, they see their parents from the very first second. Therefore, they are just in touch with them and will copy their behaviour. For example, if mother and father have always argued together, thus children will learn and exhibit in facing others. So, in my perspective, parents have a profound influence on the character of children in comparison to social media and peer groups. To sum up, the children’s surroundings have a considerable impact on their personality. However, I believe that the impacts of parent’s role outweighs in comparison with social media and friend groups.