In some countries more and more people are becoming interested in finding out bout the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

Historical literature has been gaining attention in many societies. Though in some regions, there is a growing number of individuals who are becoming curious about knowing about the history of the place where they live. People want to reach some goals by doing this, however, this is a hard task to achieve. There may be several reasons why someone should explore the past years of their house. Firstly, it has been considered leisure for many individuals, especially in the UK. For example, those who live in an old building that has been refurbished a number of times are the most interested in learning about its past. More importantly, some old houses that once have been hosting a famous author or a public figure could get the public attention, so they can become a source of income for the owner. Likewise, homes that well-known barons and saints had been living there a long time before until they have died, so they attract a few visitors these days. As for the ways that someone could find out about the history of a place, there are only a few resources available. One way is to seek out the remaining documents regarding the information related to that place. For instance, archived newspapers and phonebooks that may be still present in some libraries. Besides, trying to directly ask the prior owners about their ancestors to find out who was the first owner. Such as looking at families' old pictures and their possible documents. In summary, the curiosity of people and seeing the history of their house as a leisure activity are the main reasons why someone may seek the past of their living area. Although it is quite hard to achieve, there are a few resources available in the libraries, which could help them to pursue their aim.