Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities. To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages?

Information technology has changed the outlook of our society, it has spread beyond the workplace to even our personal lives. People have argued whether this is a good trend, the major debate, however, is how great are the advantages? are they enough to overlook the downsides?. I believe they are, and this is mainly because it offers security and increases the accessibility of stored data. One major upside of computer technology is the storage of information, and how the process saves time. Before the invention, people would spend at least an hour writing out a one-page material, this can now easily be done in a few minutes. Besides, writing or printing out files wastes a lot of paper which in the long run is detrimental to nature. Additionally, computer-stored information is safe from occurrences like fire or flood, this is definitely beneficial to many companies, hospitals, individuals and even schools. Ukrainian students, for example, would agree, as they were able to continue their education despite the destruction of their university buildings due to war. Moreover, saved files can be easily sent out and received, favouring lots of business relationships. Despite these advantages, there have been claims that telecommunication is useful only for the younger generations as it is difficult for the older ones to navigate. For instance, most over 40 years olds cannot operate a simple cellphone, or talk less of a laptop, this disconnects them from the developing world. Another argument, also, is that it is not as safe as advertised since a single error or virus could result in the loss of all stored files. Though these are valid arguments, it is quite easy to learn and understand plus most people backup to a cloud system that preserves data in spite of any kind of blunder. In conclusion, information technology is of great value and while it has its shortcomings, they are easy to workaround.