Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view

Many people believe the public expenditure on arts is a waste of money and could be utilized elsewhere. In my opinion, government expenditure on arts isn't a waste but however an investment in the nation's growth and development. Arts is generally a medium used in showcasing cultural background and heritage. Arts would help portray the culture of a particular place or country as a whole. Subsequently, this could be very imperative in teaching the future generation about the ancestral beliefs, culture and heritage. It is also seen as a means to preserve a nation's culture. Furthermore, Arts can help create employment for the citizens of a particular country. This could help combat the menace of unemployment in the nation, hence also generating revenue for the government via tax. Arts will help boost the economy providing more jobs for people reducing the crime rate in the society at large. The employment from Arts can help in revenue generation via tax which can be used by the government in the construction of basic amenities and infrastructure s in the economy. It is also clear that Arts can be seen as a great medium of communication and entertainment. Arts could help to foster interaction between different people of different backgrounds, beliefs and race. For example, an art piece showing slave trade could help depict the ancient period where the Africans were being maltreated and manipulated. Many people see Arts as a source of entertainment. Arts could be therapeutic for a lot of people and people enjoy looking at beautiful pieces of arts and would mind paying for such services. In conclusion, arts has been noted as a great medium of expression of vast imaginations and idea, incredible source of entertainment and a means of expression of culture heritage.