Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In last decades, more and more people quitted their jobs in a company and started work for themself. In this essay, I will try to explain the reasons why this situation appeared in our society and analyze the disadvantages of being the boss of oneself. There are two main reasons why this phenomenon occurs. First of all, a lot of employees were fired by their enterprises due to the current pandemic and the decline of the economy. It’s extremely hard to find a new opportunity, so they do some simple work for themself such as taxi drivers or some small businesses. Secondly, many people don’t like to stay at companies, because they have to obey too many rules of the organizations. For instance, they need to arrive at the office at 8:00 pm and leave at 19:00. If they were late or left early, they may receive some sort of punishment. However, working for themself also has some negative aspects. On the one hand, it’s not stable if we don’t work in a company. Because the laws have little protections for freelancers, they may lose their jobs suddenly. On the other hand, if we choose to work at home, we will lose communications and relationships with colleagues. It’s harmful to develop our abilities of cooperating. In conclusion, working in a company can give us more freedom. In contrast, it can also make us have an unstable source of income and lack of interactions with colleagues. Everyone should make the decisions according to their own experiences.