Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Learning a foreign language plays a crucial role in our lives. Nowadays, more schools focus on teaching a new language, some scientists argue that primary levels are better than secondary levels for learning it. Although elementary students will get confused when having conversion caused by it, they will also learn it more effectively. The advantages of learning a new language in primary schools are far more despite having some drawbacks. The greatest benefit of learning a foreign language in primary schools is that students will learn it sooner, easier and better than others. Pupils in elementary schools can learn grammar, conversation, and pronunciation in a perfect way because their minds prepare to learn new skills faster than the adults. For example, when my sister immigrated to an English language country, her son was 6 years old and now he has spoken English very well but her girl was 15 years old and she has not spoken English same as her brother since 5 years ago. Therefore, learning a second language at a young age enhances the quality of conversation and communication. On the other hand, there are many drawbacks as well. The remarkable one is confused with the mother language. Children’s brains maybe cannot separate new grammar or vocabularies with their mother tongues easily. For instance, one of my students could not speak her first language because she was born in the USA and she was forced to speak English while she had not spoken and written Persian easily. The next negative effect is that some parents do not have enough knowledge for helping their children to pass this process, so pupils feel alone. To sum up, starting ages is so important for learning a second language and obviously have many positive and negative impacts on students’ educational lives. If schools create confident situations for pupils, they will learn it very well and without any significant drawbacks.