In many countries, plastic shopping bags are the main source of rubbish. They cause water and land pollution, and so they should be banned. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Garbage is one of the major causes of hazardous pollution in both bodies of water and land area. Numerous nation faces this tremendous conundrum because plastic waste is extremely uncontrollable. I immensely agree that plastic bags must be totally banned. On the one hand, plastic is nonbiodegradable material and once dumped on land areas, it will have a great negative effect on soil fertility since it is severely difficult to decompose. Such as in the agricultural land sectors, most farmers could not come up with high-quality root crop products since the soil has been damaged, polluted and contaminated with plastic chemicals in the past years. Hence, plastic must be replaced by eco-friendly paper bags for shopping purposes so that it will decompose easily; a vast area of land would maintain the maximum level of soil fertility, also farmers shall produce the best quality of agricultural products. On the other hand, tons of plastic garbages were cluttered on the land surfaces that might be flushed to different bodies of water such as river, lake and ocean during torrential rain and flood that could contaminate the normal status of water. This is the reason why rubbish occupies and circulates in the vast majority of the ocean which contributes to danger to the life of sea creatures such as dolphins, turtles and fish. Thus, dolphins consume that plastic as well entangled their body with plastic materials and suffered from suffocation leading to a high mortality rate of sea mammals. In summary, pollution of water and land is brought by plastic waste products. All sea mammals and agricultural areas are affected and contaminated. Therefore, plastic bags must be eradicated worldwide and must be replaced by eco-friendly paper bags to maintain a healthy environment.