Prevention is better than cure. Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventive measures. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, governments all over the world started to put more effort into preventive measures than curative ones. I completely agree with these directives as it saves lives and cost less. Prophylaxis measures save more lives than curative measures. This means that if governments focused on raising awareness of the public and added some education subjects to the students’ curriculum at schools about the health hazards of drinking, smoking, or eating fast food, there would be a significant decrease in death rates. For example, In Canada, there was a significant decrease in the death rate of obesity-related comorbidities after adding this kind of subject to students’ curriculum. Therefore, it is clear that the prevention of diseases is much more beneficial than curative methods. Moreover, the research to create a new medication to fight a certain disease costs too much money and the end results may be unsatisfactory. Recently, due to covid19 pandemic, most medical centres all over the world started their research in all directions to design a vaccine or an effective treatment, but in the end, the vaccine won because it is comparatively cheap and the results were great. Even if the patient who got the vaccine got infected, their symptoms were usually mild and did not need admission. As a result of this, the COVID19 vaccine was not only cheaper, but also decreased the need for hospitalization, and accordingly, decreased the financial burden on the health system. Thus, preventive measures are more beneficial than curative methods. In conclusion, the merits of prophylaxis measures are much more important than curative ways as prophylaxis measures save more lives and cost less. It is recommended that all governments should concentrate on education and create vaccines rather than spending a huge amount of money on research to create a new medication.