Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as course work and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. Do you agree or disagree?

Many educational institutions have various strategies to develop students ’ abilities. There is an opinion that formal tasks give more significant results than continuous studies such as coursework and projects. To my view, the opinion above is not relevant. I will explain two perspectives which are the advantages of continuous studies for students and the companies ’ preferences to attest to my argument. First of all, formal tasks are a conventional way that is not able to exercise students to think more creatively, while continuous assessments such as coursework and projects can encourage students to think deeper and build critical thinking. For example, when students do some projects, they have to learn more actively by themselves such as searching literature or research, exploring experiments, as well as analysing and concluding the results. This can establish the critical thinking that will be beneficial in work fields. Thus this makes it clear that formal tasks are not the key points to optimise students ’ performance. More importantly, when companies are looking for employees, through the interview, they will be amazed by candidates who have critical thinking. For instance, companies will give questions that are related to difficult cases then candidates who can give reasonable solutions will be potentially accepted. This is skills that companies absolutely need from the employees whom they hire, especially in challenging situations. Therefore it becomes apparent that the continuous assessments train students to be more agile and decisive in crucial situations as well as innovative in increasing productivity. In conclusion, the continuous assessments will give many benefits to students to contribute to companies who hire them such as solving problems and giving innovations. Therefore it is clear that the opinion above cannot be supported. It should be considered that educational institutions should change their strategies to optimize students ’ potential.