In many western countries, there is an increasing number of couples choosing to have no children. Why is that in your opinion

In this technological era, it has been observed that in the US and UK, more and more married couples, are opting out of having children. In my opinion, there are lots of factors attributing to this current trend, and in this essay, am going to delve into the key ones and the possible solutions for those. The childbirth rates in recent times have started declining in the west, and there is a multitude of reasons for that. Firstly, women have started working, and they find that they have less time to raise a kid. For example, In the US, the childbirth rate has come down, to an average of 1.7 per woman. Next, raising a baby, has expenses associated with it, such as daycare, medical and tuition fees. This financial responsibility has created stress and anxiety in the minds of married couples and they feel overburdened. Finally, in the western culture, when the children become 18 years and above, they move out of their parent's house, and this has seeded in, a thought process, that there is no guarantee, that they would look after their elderly parents. To conclude as such, though there have been enough reasons, based on which couples decide not to start a family after marriage, the government and society, can come together to curb this. Government should promote laws, encouraging growth in the population by providing tax benefits, better education, and medical benefits. Also, society as a whole, individual families, schools, and universities should educate the children, about the value of a family environment, which would foster positive thoughts in those young minds.