We have been living in the nuclear age now for over half a century. Since the first atomic bombs were developed, nuclear technology has provided governments with the ability to totally destroy the planet. Yet the technology has been put to positive use as an energy source and in certain areas of medicine. To what extent is nuclear technology a danger to life on earth? What are the benefits and risks associated with its use?

With the advent of science and technology, nuclear power has unquestionably helped humankind as a source of energy, and in medical treatments. Also, it has enabled governments to enrich their military capability to the extent, that it could destroy the entire globe. In this essay, I am going to delve into the benefits, and risks associated with it, and my view on probable solutions for those. On the one hand, there is a multitude of benefits of nuclear energy. Firstly, it helps with the generation of adequate and uninterrupted power supply, possibly catering to an entire nation. For instance, the USA uses nuclear technology as a primary source of energy for electricity. This in turn improves the quality of life and the entire society is benefitted out of it. Next, it is widely used in the medical field, in the treatment of cancer, and in scans of the human body. For example, in the treatment of cancer patients, chemotherapy is being used as a major treatment method. On the other hand, although there are quite a few positive aspects of nuclear tech, it proves to be extremely harmful, if used wrongly. Many countries today, are using it to enrich their military capability. For example, Russia has recently tested, its intercontinental ballistic missile, which could potentially wipe off one continent, if used. Likewise, the nuclear plants should be constructed and operated with utmost safety measures, otherwise, it could have a detrimental impact on the health, and living conditions of the plant workers and locals. To conclude, though there have been benefits associated with nuclear tech usage, governments of countries, and organisations should be conscious, of its purpose and usage, to promote safe and healthy living on the face of the earth.