Some people think it is better to choose friends who always have the same opinions as them. Other people believe it is good to have friends who sometimes disagree with them. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are several major criteria for choosing the right persons as our friends. While some people believe that making such friends who always agree with us is likely to be more beneficial, others support the idea of building close connections with those people who sometimes oppose our idea is going to be more advantageous. In this essay, both sides of the argument will be analyzed and my own approach will be presented. On the one hand, having a friend with the same opinion as ours might have some positive points. For instance, when we face a problem due to an improper decision and are not in a good mood, we just need someone who empathies with us by confirming our actions. In such circumstances, these types of friends would be highly effective in making us unwind. However, spending most of our time with a person who is used to giving ideas which are truly similar to ours, can definitely be boring after a short while and this would probably end up disconnecting with them. On the other hand, most of the time friends owning different ways of thinking could enable us to come up with novel ideas when we encounter a serious challenge in daily life. This would help us gradually develop our personality as well as broaden our horizons. Thus, keeping in touch with these types of individuals will most likely lead to a long-lasting friendship. From what I have discussed above, I would prefer to make friends with those who bring different ideas from mine and therefore enable me to grow in a wide variety of aspects.