Some companies sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, While others think there are disadvantages to this. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Nowadays, we are exposed to various kinds of advertisements in which sponsoring sports is an important method. The public holds different views on sponsorship. In my opinion, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages, only if the authorities take responsible to censor the advertisements heavily. The opponents may believe that sponsorship exerts a negative impact since the products that are displayed perhaps would not be beneficial to health. To acquire more sponsorship, the teams tend to allow companies which are willing to afford a higher price to gain the opportunity of displaying their products. In this case, some goods which are detrimental to health, such as Coca Cola, are likely to be shown to the audience among which some are children, and children are so ignorant that can easily be allured. They may pester their parents to buy the advertised goods which are thought to be healthy, although it is not the truth. The argument in favour of sponsorship would be that sports activities are worth being prompted to encourage the public’s participation in exercise, and sponsorship provides the necessary funds. Today, most people live a sedentary lifestyle which leads to a series of diseases. Therefore, it is of great urgency to arouse individuals’ interest in doing exercise. However, holding a campaign requires a large amount of money in renting a professional field and employing related staff. Under this situation, without sponsorship sports events can hardly be hold frequently since the revenue from admission tickets cannot cover the huge expense. Lacking ample events, sports can hardly attract the public’s attention and stimulate them to exercise. In my opinion, taking the positive influence into account, sports events are worth sufficient capital from enterprises. In addition, it is strongly recommended that the governments heavily regulate the advertisements and prevent unhealthy goods from being displayed.