Few people devote time to hobbies nowadays. Say causes and what effect this has on the individual and society in general.

In today´s world, it is becoming more frequent to do fewer activities during our spare time. This essay will explore the causes of this situation and illustrate the damage it can produce in the long term. There are several factors that can contribute to individuals having fewer hobbies. To begin with, current employees have a heavy workload, which together with commuting, leaves them with no additional time. For example, if a worker lives two hours away from their job, there is virtually no time left in the day for other activities. Additionally, thanks to the advancement of technology, almost everyone has access to a cellphone and a social media account. Because of the way these applications were designed, users spend hours on them without even noticing, which consumes most of their leisure hours. For instance, young adults can spend on average 150 minutes a day on Instagram. If not properly addressed this could have negative consequences for both citizens and nations. On a personal level, the lack of activities to relax and disconnect from the daily concerns could result in more stress, and eventually could result in a poor performance at work. Such is the case of employees who work non-stop, and are unable to finish their tasks within the schedule. On a community level, it could lead to a decrease in overall happiness. In other words, countries with better life-work balance tend to be more content and have a longer life expectancy. To conclude, due to working long hours or scrolling on their phones people decide not to engage in recreational activities. If not solved, this could lead to workers underperforming and countries with depressed residents.