Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. What is your opinion regarding this statement? What measures can government take to discourage people from using their cars?

It has been observed that in the last three decades the usage of cars in the urban areas has raised significantly therefore, the pervasive issue-traffic congestion has taken place. I agree with this statement. This essay shall discuss the measures to solve the problem. To embark, the foremost cause is increasing standard of life of people. To elaborate on this, most of the youngsters as well as the elderly have their own personal cars nowadays; it is common in many cities. This trend is drastically improving in recent days. Furthermore, the four-wheelers are now available at cheaper prices along with loans. This may attract more humans to buy cars in their early years. For an instance, in a developed nation, the USA, all the youngsters have their own cars at the early age of their working life as it is available on instalment. Thus, increasing numbers of cars in metropolitan sites can create traffic jams during peak hours. On the contrary, there are some possible measures that can assist people in not using their cars. Firstly, the government should make them aware of the detrimental effects on the environment. This is to state that, they ought to spread awareness about effect of toxic fumes on the atmosphere and human health. Secondly, transportation authorities need to provide mankind a better option than cards for travelling such as electric trams and Subways in a lower rate as compared to cars. For example, in India, the governing bodies construct underground metros for the commuters for a comfortable experience. In conclusion, notwithstanding it is true that traffic problem caused by myriad to vehicles running on the roads however the proactive steps such as spread awareness and efficient transport facilities may influence individuals to not use their cars.