Food travels thousands of miles from producers to consumers. Some people think that it would be better for the environment and economy if people only ate the local food produced by farmers. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In today's fast-paced world, transportation has been helping many goods including food to move from one place to another. Among people are some who opine that nations should not consume food -related products from other countries and that they should consume food that produced in the locality. As it could be beneficial to their environment and to their economy alike. In my opinion, I completely agree with this notion for two reasons that I will further discuss. Firstly, moving products that are meant to be eaten, many miles causes excessive pollution to the environment. This is due to the fact that this process requires a tremendous amount of fuel which is essential to the internal combustion of engines of the machine that haul food. For instance, most producers rely on ships and heavy trucks to move their goods thousands of miles, which are known for their high appetite of fuel. In fact, burning fuel releases harmful gases including carbon dioxide, which is the main factor that contributes to global warming. As a result, more air pollution is expected and could lead to irreparable damage to our atmosphere. For this reason, I believe that environmental problems are inevitable. Secondly, consuming food that had been produced in the locality could flourish the local economy drastically. Owing to the fact that authorities would spend less money on importing food -related goods. This money could be invested somewhere else. For example, it could be devoted to financing local farmers to encourage them to plant more products that are in demand in local markets. Therefore, more job opportunities could be created for citizens. Consequently, standards of living could be increased for many. In conclusion, it is commonly asserted that citizens should consume food products that have been produced in the locality in order to benefit their economy and their environment. I completely agree with this view as moving food products causes excessive pollution to the environment, in addition, consuming local products could flourish the local economy.