Sugary drinks should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree

there is an opinion that there should be a hike in the price of soft drinks so that people lesson their daily intake of such beverages. I find this proposal fruitful up to certain limits since price increment cannot put a complete halt on their consumption. It goes without saying that people consumed drinks because they are affordable in price. Their reasonable price allures consumers to drink them on daily basis. Quite understandably, if their rate gets doubled, everyone would hesitate to buy them. As a result, people will switch to healthy alternative such as lemonade. A survey conducted by the WHO organisation concluded that when Coca-Cola drink was made costly by 30 rupees per litre, overall sales witnessed a 40% downfall in income, causing a 50 lacs loss per month to the company. On the other hand, I think that whether or not the price gets escalated, addictive buyers would anyhow afford to get it. Generally, the inflation is going higher with each passing day but people still buy everything of their need. Also, the drinks are not an exclusive source to consume sugar, there are multiple other food items which are sweet in nature and continuously have been eaten by individuals. From my perspective, people must be made aware of the ill effects related to soft drinks. Until or unless they themselves regulate their intake, no method of minimising sugary food sales can bring any change in the society. In conclusion, the cost of soft drinks does not make a big difference whether it's less or more instead other ways like spreading awareness about the harms, on a serious note are not exercised.