Some people believe that university students should pay all the costs of studies because university education only benefits students themselves, not society as a whole. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the high tuition rate of graduate qualifications, most governments, foundations and even rich individuals have come up with schemes to cover some or all of the cost. Certain people, however, have argued that this is unnecessary, their main point is that university education benefits only those who go for it. I completely disagree with this notion, graduates are advantageous to society as a whole, and scholars contribute immensely to the advancement of the world, even so, we simply cannot live well without them. The main reason I believe impecunious students should be assisted is graduates' substantial contribution to the world's progress. It is no secret that every invention was made by a university graduate, for instance, a layman could have never come up with the idea of an aeroplane, the process of refining petrol or the internet, to name a few. They have been and can only be achieved by trained professionals. Additionally, it is easy to encourage youths to go to school when they don't have to worry about the cost, which gives them the possibility of good-paying jobs and consequently reduces a nation's crime rate. When people go for higher education, studies have shown that it refines their minds and helps them to develop a sense of responsibility. This is why convicts, for example, are often persuaded to pursue a degree even while in prison. Besides development, we could never survive without professionals like health workers, lawyers, engineers and so on. Evidently, these are all university products. Suppose that these workers did not go to school due to poor finance, who would treat sick people? produce vaccines? or research the cure for a deadly disease?. Where would we find ambassadors to promote international relationships? or who would defend the innocent, even a country in legal battles?. There is no doubt that the world would stop if university graduates indeed were beneficial only to themselves. In conclusion, despite the claim that students should not be helped regarding school fees, because of failure to see the numerous benefits they bring to the world, it is apparent and I concur that one of the best ways governments and others can spend funds is on education. They should come up with more and better strategies that enable and encourage higher education.