These days, too many people maintain their health by relying on doctors and medicine, rather than by following a healthy lifestyle. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, many people prefer to put the responsibility of taking care of their health on physicians' shoulders rather than revising their lifestyles. Although it is needless to say that medicine plays an increasingly important role in maintaining public health and human reliance on it is increasing, I am convinced that the younger generation considers having a healthy lifestyle far more vital to keep their health. There are several arguments that show people are far more dependent on medicine compared to the past. First of all, studies have shown that people's medication compliance has significantly increased. One can take the example of diabetic patients who accept the hassle of adjusting Insulin dosage by regularly checking their blood sugar, but avoid having regular physical exercise and decreasing their carb and suger intake. Moreover, it has been clearly observed that more patients are visiting doctors in a day. The logic behind that is the increase of diseases' prevalence as the result of ignoring a healthy lifestyle, which is the prevention of many ailments. For example in Vancouver, individuals need to wait for at least three days to see their family doctors. Thus, one should say here that sticking to unhealthy lifestyles is pushing humans to their doctors and medicine more. Having said that, recently the younger generation is taking a fresh look at the healthy lifestyle as a passport to a healthy life. This is because they are exploring online resources and are far more aware of the importance of doing exercise and following healthy diet. For instance, recently there is a craze of being vegeterian and most of them have chosen this diet after reading the positive effects of it on their health. Apart from that, they are reading about the side effects of medications and try not to see their physicians unless everything they do fails instead prefer to diagnose and treat themselves. Consequently, people can say that the younger generation pays more attention to their lifestyle and resist against medicine. To sum up, although there are many evidence that proves the dependence of human on modern medicine, there are still many people who do not trust doctors and try to take care of their conditions themselves. I would say that it depends on individuals and it especially is not true about the young generation.