Nowadays more and more older people who need employment have to compete with younger people for the same jobs. What problems does this cause? What are the solutions?

Ageism is one of the major reasons why many senior to mid-level working individuals are caught up competing with younger individuals for the same job position. In the following sentences, I will discuss what may cause such a recent trend and any reasonable remedies which might address the necessity of a generational turnover. Due to the lack of stable and financially secure working placements, many older generations of working individuals are forced to apply for entry-level positions. Therefore, the vast majority of new job postings are frequently saturated by freshly graduated people who would be more aligned with the related job requirements. Moreover, this could lead to older people looking for a role which could result in hazardous or physically demanding conditions for a particularly vulnerable age group. For instance, a recent study has stressed how more and more 65+, surveyed about their working status in Canada, are not always academically competitive as the younger generations. In relation to any ideal remedy to such a phenomenon, Governments have recently urged employers to retain employees throughout their careers. This immensely shows how beneficial would be for them to prevent job-hopping among more senior-level employees. In addition, it would also be necessary to increase the chances for younger workers to gain valuable working experience before applying for mid to senior positions through credit-based working placements before graduating. Through the previously mentioned solutions, a broader range of more senior workers would be easily advantaged to retain their leadership roles without having to leave the workforce. In other words, if this comes true, many more talents with 10 or more years of experience will not apply for overly saturated entry-level jobs. In conclusion, although in recent years senior roles have been declining due to the lack of skilled workers, it has not prevented them from finding alternative but inadequate working arrangements while competing with young applicants. Unfortunately, this trend has compromised the authentic role that this particular age group has in many positions of leadership. Finally, the Governments should aim to introduce more comprehensive plans to prevent them from applying for hazardous and low-paid roles.