"Fashion trends are difficult to follow these days and it’s widely believed that they primarily exist just to sell clothes. Some people believe that we shouldn’t follow them and that we should dress in what we like and feel comfortable in. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?"

Nowadays, we live in an era advanced by consumerism in which whether following fashion trends or not has become a debatable issue, especially, among the young generation. Some people believe that pursuing this trend is a good way of improving people ’s lifestyles, while many others argue that people should dress in something more comfortable. I advocate the latter group at least for two main reasons elaborated below. On the one hand, some people claim that, in this day and age, wearing vogue clothes enhances their sense of pride and self-confidence. I personally believe that this is more of a requirement for celebrities and famous individuals. But for the common people, the drawbacks of following this trend outweigh its benefits. On the other hand, it is obvious that fashion is a changeable trend by its nature. Consequently, following this dynamic procedure costs heavily and wastes an individual’s money and time. As an example, one of my cousins allocates more than fifty per cent of his income to the latest attire instead of saving it for his future life. Moreover, it should be mentioned that the main purpose of wearing clothes is to protect human bodies from different weather conditions rather than showing off. For instance, people ’s clothes should illustrate their own personality and uniqueness instead of mocking someone else who works in the film or fashion industry. To be more precise, people should appreciate their own tastes and beliefs. In addition, the predominant feature of fashion is to be against the traditions and cultures of many societies. All in all, from what has been discussed, I agree in saying that although pursuing fashion might be a pleasant task for some people, it is an expensive and improper trend in long run.