"The shortage of housing in big cities can cause severe consequences. Only government action can solve this problem.   To what extent do you agree or disagree?"

With urbanisation, the population in cities is growing fast and so is the housing crisis, which brings along many other problems. Some argue that only government is the appropriate authority to deal with this rising problem. I strongly agree with this argument as governments can solve this growing issue by various steps, such as restricting new landed residential housing by encouraging vertical apartment buildings and gradually expanding cities. First and foremost, the government is the right party to resolve this housing crisis issue by discouraging the building of new landed houses and encouraging vertical multi-storey apartment living with proper planning and infrastructure to deal with this space crunch. For example, Singapore and Hong Kong are cities on islands and they have proven to solve this crisis for their citizens by vertically building thousands of high-floor flats. These cities have proved to incorporate the best infrastructure for their ever-growing population by building multi-story apartments rather than new houses, which has resulted in economically affordable housing for their citizens in big cities. Further, to help the situation, the government can extend highways to help commuters access the cities in a country easily. This high level of planning can only be done by the government to help solve accommodation shortages for their citizenry. Secondly, the government can help this situation by expanding cities and creating more residential properties on the outskirts of cities. In Noida, for instance, a fast-growing city in India, the housing development board has continuously helped accommodate the growing population by building more residential properties on the outskirts of the city which eventually became part of it and built metros and highways for commuters to make it easily accessible. Hence, this helped in controlling growing cramping and accommodation problems for their locals. In conclusion, it is clear that the government has a big role to play as an ultimate authority by taking appropriate measures to create highly planned inner-by city development and well-designed infrastructure to accommodate the growing needs of their citizens.