Online shopping is significantly increasing. What effect does this have on the environment and the types of job required?

In this contemporary world, the way of life has become too sophisticated and easier with the advancements in technology. Shopping, among many aspects, has significantly changed with its increasing online availability. This essay will dive into the impacts that online facility has, on the environment and jobs. There is a considerable amount of impact on the environment since the advent of online shopping. Firstly, people thronging shopping malls and markets have drastically been reduced. Consequently, this has an aftermath effect on traffic, reducing traffic congestion, especially during the weekends. Secondly, the production of more and more rubbish has also been mitigated. For instance, in highly populated countries like China, the hiring of sanitary contractor workers has been reduced by 10% per year. Finally, socializing with friends and families has seen a detrimental effect due to online shopping, as people don't go out shopping. Furthermore, there is an adverse effect on jobs as well. Owing to online facilities, many street vendors have disappeared. They are replaced by skilled workers who work on developing online shopping aggregators. In addition, it also offers jobs to unskilled workers and part-timers. For instance, the company, Amazon, which started with just a thousand delivery boys in 2014, has now tallied up to 1 million in 2020. Online shopping is also a cardinal reason for the emergence of IT companies such as Flipkart and Snapdeal which presents a plethora of job opportunities. In conclusion, the impact that online shopping has brought has both upsides and downsides. However, it has not only made life easier but also created abundant job opportunities.