We cannot help everyone in the world that needs help, so we should only be concerned with our own communities and countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, most people live in urban areas and this brings a lot of benefits as compared to living in rural setups. However, certain individuals believe living in big cities is bad for people's health. I disagree with this opinion to a greater extent. The essay below will discuss this view at length. First and foremost, living in the urban areas brings more advantages, especially considering the issue of education and health as more schools and big hospitals are located in the city. For example, 70% of the people living in the rural areas when they get ill are transferred to better hospitals in town. Therefore, I oppose the idea that big cities cause health hazards because it is where most individuals get better treatment for their ailments thereby improving their health. Furthermore, staying in urban areas is good for everyone's well-being. There are shops and people are given the choice of buying a variety of fruits and vegetables which are sometimes imported from other countries. The ones living in rural areas have limited choice as they sometimes eat one relish repeatedly because of few and expensive grocery shops without fresh vegetables. For example, a study conducted in Zimbabwe in 2008 found that 89% of people in the countryside eat one food for more than three weeks. This causes malnutrition especially in children less than ten years of age. In conclusion, I disagree that living in big cities is bad for the health of individuals because they have many hospitals and shopping malls close by which helps them to be attended to early by the doctors and buy fresh healthy food in no time. However, others think it is unhealthy to stay in huge towns. This and other issues have been discussed in the essay above.