Today, many people use the internet and smartphones to transfer money to friends, family, and businesses. Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent years, in the developed world, the internet and mobile phones have revolutionized the way we transfer money to people. From my point of view, this trend has had a wholly positive impact on both individuals and society for mainly two reasons. I believe that the rise in using the internet and mobiles can be seen as positive for both personal and broader societal reasons. On an individual level, people who utilize mobiles to send and receive money may become far more comfortable than those who choose banks to transfer their money. Due to technological development, in particular emerging internet and smartphones, people are offered more convenient ways of transferring money. For example, one can purchase from online shops, pay personal and household bills, or even receive their salary by using simple apps on phones, which is so useful in terms of money and time. Moreover, from a societal perspective, the trend toward money transactions will give rise to an acceleration in cash flow. In the past, banks did several operations to transfer money such as checking the documents of people who stood in long queues, resulting in documents chaos and taking too much time. However, currently, a developed transaction system facilitates the process; with adequate cash flow, a business can pay its bills on time, manage its debt obligations, and avoid defaulting on loans or credit lines. In conclusion, as a result of significant increases in money transactions, people can transfer their money to acquaintances easily even without any extra documents.