Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes(for example, working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Social welfare activities are an essential part of our lives in order to learn the art of giving and providing help for the needy. Therefore, according to some individuals, support services should be a mandatory part of the secondary school education. This can be through voluntary charity work or merely by enhancing the local area. I completely agree with this viewpoint since we can teach the children about the tasks that can be of immense aid to the others. Although the children are not getting paid for these activities, it will still provide them with a lesson of sincerity, kindness and respect. When the children will work in a charity store, they will learn to give their unwanted clothes or toys to the children in need. In addition, they will also gain work experience in a store and the retail skills which in turn will make them more confident for future endeavours. For example, children will learn to appreciate what they have and what they do not need by offering it to the impoverished children. Furthermore, children will work in the neighbourhood area to improvise it and hence again are obtaining knowledge on how to behave in relation to the environment. A compelling example of this is when the children acquire knowledge on planting new trees and cleaning the surrounding local regions where they live. This way they will become better individuals in the upcoming life where they will know the value of nature and hygiene. To conclude, I am of the definite opinion that making these activities a compulsory part of the schools is a great way to strengthen the kind behaviour of our children as well as make them aware of appreciating the good things in life which do not always come with monetary gains. Only then, we can provide children with the theoretical knowledge they attain from schools along with the act of kindness.