Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty yearsthat many cities in the world are now one big traffic jam. How true do you think this statement is ? what measures can governments take to discorage people from using their cars?

In the last three decades, it is not uncommon to see a significant rise in the number of cars in the cities which has led to huge traffic congestion. I believe that this notion is true. This essay will discuss the various measures by which the government can mitigate this issue. Rising number of people are buying vehicles, this is largely due to better affordability. To elaborate, these days people standard of living in cities has improved drastically which has made them capable of buying cars. For example, due to a boost in economy in India, every family residing at New Delhi, has more than one car in their house. Therefore, this has made a surge in the traffic congestion by threefolds on roads. One of the best way by which this situation can be addressed by development of excellent public transport system by the government. This is because due to lack of the public transport individuals are enforced to use their cars. If better commute facilities, such as buses and train will be available for the public, they will be motivated to use them as they are more economical and convenient. To illustrate, in South Korea, due to well established train system, most of the citizens prefer to travel by them because it saves their invaluable time of commuting and money. As a result, people are less interested to use their own vehicles. In addition, the government should move the car parks of crucial public building and shopping centres in the outskirts. In otherwords, this will discourage the people to use their private cars instead they would prefer public transport system. Consequently, this will reduce the number of autombiles in cities and will eventually solve the problem of traffic jams. For instance, many South Asian nations followed this approach and gained paramount success in curbing the traffic congestion. In conclusion, In my opinion number of cars has increased drastically during the last thirty years. However, the goverment can tackle this issue by improving public transport and building car parking of major public buildings outside cities.