Nowadays, sports is a big business with high earnings for professional sports people and companies involved both financially and other ways. Is this a positive or negative development for sports? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, sports is one of the most lucrative industries in the world. It brings in a big amount of money not only for athletes but also for companies that operate in this field. Personally, I think this trend has both negative and positive impacts, and in this essay, I will outline why this happens with examples. On the one hand, excessive incomes in a sports area comparing other sectors can lead to unstable development. Sports organizers will be able to increase ticket fees or membership fees to meet those upward costs. With ticket prices gradually rising, not to mention merchandise price tags, sports fans will stop paying to watch or support professional sports teams and leave the industry. For example, the Arsenal fans have protested increasing ticket prices by calling for a boycott against Arsenal at the Emirates Stadium. On the other hand, high incomes in sports fields will attract more and more talents. There are many aggressive competitions among pro athletes who must sacrifice their life and expose to high-risk levels of physical and mental health to achieve the required level of the standard if they do not want to be eliminated. This assures qualified personnel for the sports industry. For instance, the incomes of English Premier League footballers have inflated in recent years but they encounter a lot of risks such as serious injuries and especially considering that their careers typically end around the age of 35. This is a deserved trade-off. In conclusion, paying a high salary for personnel in sports could result in pros and cons effect. But this is the way how the sports industry running.