Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as Sahara or Antarctica. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend for tourists who visit these places?

Tourism is increasing at a rapid pace over the last few years. People these days are interested in visiting all the places in the world. There are people who want to visit areas that are baffling and challenging. There are both advantages and disadvantages to this trend. And we will shed some light on both in the following stanzas. On the one hand, there are some enthusiasts who want to discover the undiscovered places and love to have thrill and adventure. Visiting such difficult offbeat travel destinations helps them to conquer their fears and face challenges. Such situations make them versatile and they learn how to survive in difficult times where basic amenities are hardly available. For instance, people have to survive a number of hours without water and food in these areas. Another advantage of visiting these places is that it provides employment in offbeat destinations where people only have tourism as their source of income. On the other hand, going to these destinations have its own demerits also. Surviving the harsh heat waves in the Sahara desert or facing the extreme cold weather in Antarctica is not easy. Such situations can cause health issues. For example conditions like frostbites,diarrhoea or dehydration are very common amongst travellers. Frostbites can lead to amputation of body parts as well. In addition to that, in the worst scenarios, people can get lost in deserts and mountains. In conclusion, I would like to adage that visiting offbeat travel destinations such as Sahara and Antarctica has its own pros and cons. It can be satisfying for the ferocious traveller however it can be life-threatening as well. Taking proper safety measures is necessary for visiting difficult destinations.