Recently, abortion increases rapidly and becomes a controversial topic. Some people suppose that abortion should be legal while others are against it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In these modern times, women have the option to terminate unwanted pregnancies. Even so, abortion remains taboo in many parts of the world. With the rise of the feminist movement and calls for gender equality, it has become legal in more liberal countries, causing an increase in abortion rates. However, in areas where religious beliefs play a huge role in society, it is observed that abortion is far from being accessible. This essay will explore both points and discuss why it is agreed that abortion should be legalized. The #MeToo movement was a feminist triumph. For a long time, women were silenced by abusers and made to think they did not have body autonomy. This event introduced the world to the feminist statement, "My body, my choice", a phrase that is simple but effective. Governments started see abortion through the lens of free will, a human right for women to have control over their bodies, and thus sought to make it legal. On the other hand in countries where religion is ingrained in culture, abortion is seen as a sin. The church believes that abortion is the act of ending an innocent life and so does its followers. It is increasingly difficult for governments in these countries to approve laws because it ensures public backlash. This is usually true for poorer countries where corrupt officials seek re-election and therefore, do not enact laws to provoke the voting masses. I believe that all women should be given the option to terminate a pregnancy. In some cases, these pregnancies are caused by sexual assault, thereby leaving the mother to carry the trauma. In impoverished nations, teenage pregnancy is also a huge problem. This is due to the fact that sex education and reproductive health isn't discussed in schools or at home. As a result, poor mothers have no choice but to raise poor families. Unfortunately, in some cases, pregnant women seek abortion illegally, which puts them in more danger. I think it is the government's duty to secure the health of women. This also ensures the health of children, of households and in turn, of society. Abortion will continue to be a delicate topic. To most first -world nations it might be easy to see that this is a basic human right. But third -world countries will continue to feel that legalizing abortion is not a priority. I hope that one day all women will have the option to decide for themselves.