The shortage of housing in big cities can cause severe consequences. Only government action can solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Housing shortage in cosmopolitan cities can be attributed to two main factors: insufficient supply of residentials areas and rapid surge of population. The government, having the highest authority, has a pivotal role in regulating supply of houses to citizens. Thus, I firmly believe it is only through government led movement that alleviation of the problem could be realised. Some may propose that land developers and citizens have a role in aggravating the housing problems: developers can accelerate the process of building housing estates, while citizens can move to areas further away from city centre to reduce the congestion. Of course, these would rely on their conscience, which is often lacking. Who wouldn’t want to live in the proximity of their workplace or school, with all the shops and daily necessities in place? My friend, for instance, prefered to live in Sydney in a tiny flat as she felt it was extremely convenient, rather than go back to suburban areas which was remote and isolated. With the government ’s policy in place, giving monetary incentives or welfare rewards to those who comply with increasing residential supply, the scheme would be much more efficient. It is crystal clear that the government has the highest power to enact changes in society. They can design policies to ensure adequate supply of land is provided for residential use, as well as putting a limit to the population rise, therefore reaching a balance between man and space. Singapore is a glaring example, where the authorities have put together reasonably priced and spacious public housing estates for its citizens in the past decades, relieving the pressure on living space. Hong Kong, on the contrary, without such large scale public housing plans in place, finds itself constantly lacking in quality apartments to house the needy. Without the officials led change, it is extremely difficult and inefficient to ease the pressure on housing supply. Therefore, in my opinion, government support and action is the only way out for the paucity of living areas in large urban areas.