In recent years, more and more people are choosing to read e-books rather than paper books. Do the advantages outweigh diasadvantages.

E- books have changed the book world tremendously and many people nowadays incline towards e- books than paper books. Apparently, though electronic books have merits in the form of portability, ease to download and cost-effectiveness, these have demerits in terms of dependency on electronic devices and eyes related issues. In fact, the pros of e- books can overshadow their cons. To begin with, e- books are gaining popularity among people as it is easy to carry. To clarify, a small size 32 GB pen drive can save up to 1000 e- books. In addition, there are numerous websites on the internet that have myriad options to download these books without any hustle. For example, Google store has many e-book reading applications which assist users both in downloading and reading. Moreover, a number of e- books are available without any cost whereas some of them may have a nominal fee in comparison to paper books. Therefore, e- books have attracted a large number of book readers. On the contrary, if people want to read e- books, they need specific electronic devices like mobile phones or laptops for it. Ostensibly, it requires a huge amount of money to purchase an electronic gadget before being able to read e- books. Furthermore, using electronic devices for longer hours to read e- books can be a dangerous activity as it can increase the chances of various kinds of eye related issues. A survey conducted by the Guardian Newspaper in March 2015 that clearly revealed 65% of people had been facing serious eye strain and eye-sight issues when they started using electronic devices to read e- books without break. To conclude, it is unequivocal that an increasing number of people are shifting from paper books to e- books because it has benefits like easy to store, user-friendly download options and save a considerable amount of users. However, e- books have some negative points including eye-sight problems and a need of a special device though these disadvantages have less impact than the advantages of e- books.