Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. Do you agree or disagree?

It is the responsibility of the government to spend resources wisely. Therefore, it is a point of much debate among different communities that governments should invest funds in public services instead of spending them on arts such as music and theatre because it is a wastage of public money. Personally, I believe that the state must invest resources for the welfare of the public in order to support the economy as well as to serve the citizens better. The foremost reason to support the investment in public services is that it will provide better facilities to the citizens as medical, education and transportation are the basic necessities of human beings. Moreover, the fulfilment of these needs also brings a great sense of satisfaction. For instance, many individuals migrate to developed nations due to they get all basic facilities from the government at no cost as well as they don't need to travel to another region or nation to get these facilities. Additionally, if the infrastructure is better in a region, they attract huge investments from investors and businessmen too. Thus, this helps to improve the economy of a nation and the standard of living of its residents. For example, the development of Gurgaon city which is located in India attracted a lot of funds in the IT sector, and it is the second IT hub after Bangalore at present. Furthermore, it also helps to promote employment in the region. To illustrate, many IT professionals move to Gurgaon intending to get jobs. In conclusion, I am inclined to support the investment in public services because it not only promotes the economy of a nation but also improves the living standard of its residents. In addition, individuals will be more satisfied with their governments if they provide them with the basic necessities.