A Rise In The Standard Of Living In A Country Often Only Seems To Benefit Cities Rather Than Rural Areas. What problems can this cause? How might these problems be reduced?

It has been observed that only urban areas benefit from modern facilities when a country achieves economic growth. This trend may lead to a plethora of problems and these issues can be resolved by taking necessary measures by the people as well as the government. To begin with, high living standards of urban areas fascinate the people to settle in the cities making these areas overcrowded. As a result of this, it becomes challenging for the individuals to acquire jobs, avail accommodation and other facilities. Furthermore, overcrowding in the cities leads to air pollution as the number of vehicles plying on the roads increases. Apart from this, deforestation is another major issue arising / that arises due to the requirement of living as well as working places in the urban areas. Hence, the availability of more facilities only in urban areas leads to disastrous effects on the environment. To cope up with these pressing issues in the cities, the government requires spreading awareness about the consequences of the deforestation as well as high level of air pollution. The people should be motivated to plant more and more trees and stringent rules should be imposed to protect the trees. Moreover, implementing odd-even rule that allows only even or odd number vehicles to run on the road and encouraging the people to prefer the car pool should be a prudent approach. Individuals should also play an imperative role in protecting the environment as they need to follow the respective rules and regulations regarding environment protection. The government also needs to create more job opportunities in the villages. They should also build good educational institutions. If people can find jobs in their native place they will not move to cities and when they continue to live in their villages, facilities will start becoming available there as well. In conclusion, overpopulation in the cities may lead to irreversible effects on the environment and can cause difficulty for the people to earn a living. However, if the government and the people join hands, they can mitigate these issues to a great extent and achieve even development throughout the country.