Worker often have to retire at the age of 60 or 65. However, some people say that they should be allowed to continue working for as long as they want. What is your opinion about this?

People usually become pensioners when they are 60 or 65 and with it, they leave their job. However, there are some who opine that they should have the possibility to continue working. In my personal opinion, for example, I disagree and in this essay I will explain my view. Although giving the elders the opportunity to feel still productive and functional in our society, it is lucid that we would be closing the door for the youngsters that are trying to incorporate to the work world because unfortunately there are not enough positions for everyone. For instance, the statistics of unemployment remain growing in most countries and the possibility to obtain a job is reducing especially for those with a lack of experience. many companies prefer to maintain the same staff for years and avoid training that requires money and time. Consequently, elders remain to get pensions and salaries while others do not receive any income. In addition, and no less important even though the elders feel that they can continue with their daily activities, their body is at the highest risk than the youngers and the consequences of a simple fall could be fatal. For example, if a 60 years old person working in a childcare centre needs to carry a baby the effort of the back and arms is bigger than the one that a 30 years old has to do, furthermore, the balance is not the same so the wellbeing of the baby is also in doubt. Hence, it is important to promote their physical health and foster self-care staying at home doing relaxing routines, sharing with their loved ones or just looking after their health. To conclude, I disagree with the idea of allowing pensioned people to continue working not only because this makes harder the process for young workers to be hired but also because they deserve to have time to rest and look after themselves.