Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful than those countries which do not have a long working time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that if the economic contribution is consistent with the length of labour hour among different countries. In my opinion that the conclusion is superficial without sufficient analysis from different perspectives. In this essay I will give my own perspective that the length of average working hour is not a positive relationship with the success in economy. On one hand, working hard is encouraged in apply society, which easily links to long working h. Undoubtedly, the possibility of economic success by hard-working would be higher than others. For example, the salaryour salary or for workers in a factory is normally calculated with basic salary plus overtime salary according to their actual working hour, as long as more work hours economic income would be more. Nevertheless, a musician spent one year writing a song, when the song has been published but no revenue because it’s not buy-in in the market. From another perspective, the yield rate is an important indicator to evaluate the success of a business by economists. There are several cases that proved the most eye-catching business case are always those get return in short term. For instance, JD corporation (China Amazon) was established in 1998, successfully listed in public stock in 2014, and it’s profitable in 2017. Meanwhile, JD’s competitor PDD was established in 2015, successfully listed in public stock in 2016, and achieved profitability in quarter one of 2021, PDD took six years to get profit, which is less than 11 years compared with JD which took 17 years. Besides, the development of technology in the recent decade have improved, more robot applied in manufacturing plant or used in the service industry, like robot arm in production line, delivery robot in hotel or restaurant, which appliances reduced the rework rate, scrap rate and the fluctuation by labour cost. To sum up, it’s too general to evaluate the economic performance for a country upon hour spent on work, I support assessing the economic indicator in a practice way from different perspectives.