Nowadays many people complain that they have difficulties getting enough sleep. What problems can cause a lack of sleep? What can be done about lack of sleep?

A lot of individuals struggle to sleep at night because of different problems they encounter in their daily lives. The essay below will discuss the causes of lack of sleep and possible solutions to curb this. First and foremost, stress and different ailments are the most contributing factors to insomnia. When someone is stressed, they don't find peace in their hearts which causes them to overthink and not fall asleep. Also, different diseases such as the high blood pressure and depression are some of the illnesses that may cause insomnia. For instance, a study conducted at a certain hospital in Hongkong in 2009, showed that 67% of sleepless patients had been diagnosed with depression. Therefore, stress and certain diseases may cause a shortage of sleep in some people. Furthermore, to deal with the problems mentioned above, the public should be educated on the dangers of stress and how to manage it. Moreover, those with diseases affecting their sleep must be encouraged to exercise a lot and eat healthy foods such as vegetables and fruits. Health practitioners should encourage people to do more exercises as it helps the body muscles to relax thereby helping the mind calm down. For example, in 2018, student doctors in Zambia found that cancer patients slept three hours more at night when they exercised during the day. In conclusion, sickness and stress are some of the causes of sleeplessness at night. To deal with these issues, the government and health specialists should educate people on the dangers of stress and how to manage it. Also, individuals must be encouraged to eat healthily and exercise more. These and other issues have been discussed in the essay above.