Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful than those countries which do not have a long working time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that if the economic contribution is consistent with the length of labour timesheet among different countries. In my opinion that the conclusion is superficial without sufficient analysis from different perspectives. In this essay, I will give my own perspective that the length of the average working hours is not a positive relation to the success in the economy. On one hand, working hard is encouraged in the society, which easily links to long working hours. Undoubtedly, the possibility of economic success by hard-working would be higher than others. To be more precise, the salary for workers in a factory is normally calculated with a basic salary plus overtime salary according to their actual working hours, as long as more work hours economic income would be more. Nevertheless, a musician spent one year writing a song, when the song has been published but has no revenue because it’s not buy-in in the market. From another perspective, the yield rate is an important indicator to evaluate the success of a business by economists. In particular, there are several cases that proved the most eye-catching business case are always those returned in short term. For instance, JD corporation (China Amazon) was established in 1998, successfully listed in public stock in 2014, and it’s profitable in 2017. Meanwhile, JD’s competitor PDD was established in 2015, successfully listed in public stock in 2016, and achieved profitability in quarter one of 2021, PDD took six years to get profit, which is less than 11 years compared with JD which took 17 years. Besides, the development of technology in the recent decade have improved, more robot applied in manufacturing plant or used in the service industry. For example, the robot arm in the production line and the delivery robot in hotel or restaurant, which appliances reduced the rework rate, scrap rate and the fluctuation by labour cost. To sum up, it’s too general to evaluate the economic performance of a country upon hours spent on work, I support assessing the economic indicator in a practical way from different perspectives.