Educating young people is naturally important. However, some think governments ought to invest more education for adults in need. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniable that education is a necessity for many individuals, especially adults who are less priviledged. Even though it is vital to invest in education for grown-ups, I believe that policymakers should not spend too much on it and firms should be involved as well. To begin with, intense competitions in workplace have rendered many employees' skills outdated. If governments did not provide more training courses to upgrade their skills, these people would be structually unemployed in the near future. On top of that, many working adults who are having financial difficulties could not afford to attend courses to improve their competitiveness. This is because the cost of living has risen over the past decades, many families already struggle to make both ends meet. Few families have financial resources to spend on enrichment courses. Therefore, governments have the responsibility to offer subsidies to cover parts of the course fees and make courses more accessible for the mass. However, I believe that it is crucial to strike a balance between education for adults and other priorities. Considering that governments ' budget is limited. Overspending on adult education will jeopardise the development of other sectors. For example, healthcare, transport and environment sectors are equally important to advancements of society. If there are less grants available for these areas, the public's needs will not be well accommodated. On top of that, it is critical to mandate private enterprises to share the financial burden of adult education. Governments could make it compulsory and forces private companies to send their employees for enrichment programmes, otherwise firms will face penalties. Ultimately, they are one of the beneficiaries of a more productive workforce. In conclusion, while it is true that governments are obligated to allocate more resources to providing more courses to sharpen people's skills, I argue that this approach may be a success at the expense of other fields. Also, governments should require employers to share the burden since they also benefit from enrichment programmes.